Breaking News
Home >> National >> UP elections 6th phase LIVE updates: Voting begins in 7 districts for 43 seats

UP elections 6th phase LIVE updates: Voting begins in 7 districts for 43 seats

UP elections 6th phase LIVE updates: Voting begins in 7 districts for 43 seats

Lucknow: Polling for 49 seats in the sixth and penultimate phase of the Uttar Pradesh elections began at 7 a.m on Saturday. The over 1.72 crore electorate will decide the fate of 635 candidates across seven districts in eastern UP.



    • Till 9 am: Gorakhpur – 10.5% voter turnout


    • Maharajganj district – 11%


    • Balia – 11%


    • Deoria – 10.07%





    • “Today is the first phase of the Manipur Assembly polls. I appeal to voters in the seats polling today to turnout in record numbers & vote” says PM Modi




    • Yogi Adityanath casts his vote for 6th phase of UP elections, says “UP will get rid of bad governance by SP and BSP post the elections”

Yogi Adityanath casts his vote for 6th phase/ ABP News ImageYogi Adityanath casts his vote for 6th phase/ ABP News Image


    • Voting underway for 6th phase of UP elections

Assembly segments of Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency of firebrand BJP leader Yogi Adityanath, and Mau, where jailed gangster-turned-MLA Mukhtar Ansari is in fray, also figure in this penultimate phase of polling that will also cover some districts bordering Nepal.

Around 1.72 crore voters, including 94.60 lakh men and 77.84 lakh women, are eligible to cast their votes in this round to decide the fate of 635 candidates including 63 women.

The districts where polling is going on in the sixth phase are Mau, Gorakhpur, Maharajganj, Kushinagar, Deoria, Azamgarh and Ballia.

Azamgarh Lok Sabha constituency has 10 assembly seats, of which SP had won nine in 2012, but this time Mulayam has not addressed a single meeting in his parliamentary constituency.

The prestige of Union minister Kalraj Mishra, who represents Deoria in the Lok Sabha, too is at stake, besides that of Adityanath.

BJP is contesting 45 seats and its ally Apna Dal one.

Another BJP partner Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party is contesting 3 seats. While BSP has fielded candidates on all 49 seats, SP is contesting 40 seats and Congress 9 seats under an alliance.

Prominent candidates in this phase include BSP turncoat Swami Prasad Maurya from Padrauna (Kushinagar), former BJP state president Surya Pratap Shahi from Pathardeva (Deoria), Shyam Bahadur Yadav (SP), son of former Governor Ram Naresh Yadav from Fulpur Pawai (Azamgarh), SP turncoats Ambika Chowhdury and Narad Rai, who are contesting on BSP ticket from Fefna (Ballia) and Ballia Sadar.

Mukhtar is contesting from Mau and his son Abbas is in fray from adjoining Ghosi seat in Mau district.

In the 2012 Assembly polls, of the 49 seats, 27 were won

by the SP, 9 by BSP, 7 by BJP, 4 by Congress and 2 by others.

There will be 17,926 polling booths and 10,820 polling centres in this phase.

The highest number of 23 candidates are contesting from Gorakhpur and the least candidates, numbering seven are in pitted for Mohammadabad Gohna seat in Mau district.

Central Para Military Forces have already reached the constituencies and carried out flag march in sensitive areas.

Indo-Nepal border with Maharajganj and Gorakhpur, and border with Bihar have been sealed.

Police patrolling has been intensified along inter district borders and barriers have been erected on highways to keep an eye on movements of vehicles.

Maoists and the porous Indo-Nepal border are the two biggest challenges before the police in Maharajganj.

The 84 km-long Indo-Nepal border has been sealed by Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) and only emergency vehicles will be allowed to cross the border, District Electoral Officer Virendra Kumar Singh said.

Cameras have been installed on trade and transit points along India’s border with Nepal to prevent illegal movement of people during polling.

He said two such cameras have already been set up at Sonauli Indo-Nepal Border of Maharajganj district on India-Nepal border.

The polling percentage on these 49 seats in sixth phase was 55.04 in 2012 assembly polls.

(With additional information from PTI)

Check Also

Mamata Banerjee discusses joint candidate for prez polls with Sonia Gandhi

Sting Newz Desk: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee batted for a joint candidate for the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *